Larkin Poe – Milano – 24 febbraio 2021
Santeria Toscana 31
Milano, Italia
Larkin Poe

Larkin Poe – Milano – 24 febbraio 2021

24 febbraio 2021 - 21:00
Compra Biglietti

Dettagli evento

Larkin Poe is an American roots rock band originally from north Georgia and currently from Nashville, Tennessee
fronted by sisters Rebecca Lovell (born January 30, 1991) and Megan Lovell (born May 12, 1989). Featuring strong southern harmonies, heavy electric guitar riffs, and slide guitar, they are often touted as "the little sisters of the Allman Brothers". The band performed at the 2014 and 2016 Glastonbury Festival, and were voted "Best Discovery of Glastonbury 2014" by the UK's The Observer.

Both sisters have also toured as backing musicians for a variety of other bands, most notably Elvis Costello, Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes, Kristian Bush of Sugarland, and Keith Urban.

Band history

Rebecca & Megan Lovell began their musical careers in 2005 as teenagers with the formation of a bluegrass/Americana group, the Lovell Sisters, with their eldest sister, Jessica Lovell. After self-releasing two independent albums and touring successfully for four years - appearing on Garrison Keillor's A Prairie Home Companion, the Grand Ole Opry, and performing at Bonnaroo Music Festival - the Lovell Sisters announced the group's disbandment in December 2009. In January 2010, Rebecca and Megan regrouped as Larkin Poe. "Larkin Poe" was the name of the sisters' great-great-great-great-grandfather.

Over the course of 3 years (2010-2013), Larkin Poe self-released 5 independent EPs, 2 collaboration albums, and a live performance DVD. Spring EP (2010), Summer EP (2010), Fall EP (2010), Winter EP (2010), Thick as Thieves EP (2011), The Sound of the Ocean Sound a collaboration with Thom Hell (2013), Killing Time EP a collaboration with Blair Dunlop (2013).

In late 2013, Larkin Poe signed a record deal with RH Music, the music division of San Francisco-based company Restoration Hardware. Following this signing, the band began work on their first full-length album, KIN.

In March 2014, producer T Bone Burnett tapped the sisters to record harmonies and instrumentation on The New Basement Tapes' album Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes alongside Marcus Mumford of Mumford & Sons, Elvis Costello, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, and Rhiannon Giddens. Rebecca and Megan also appear in the 2014 Showtime documentary Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued.

In June 2014, Larkin Poe performed at the Glastonbury Festival, which resulted in them being named "best discovery of Glastonbury" by The Observer.

In April 2016, the sisters released their second album Reskinned and performed their song "Trouble in Mind" on Conan. They also appeared on Steven Tyler's album We're All Somebody from Somewhere, which was released in July of the same year.

In February 2017, Larkin Poe performed as part of the backing band at the MusiCares tribute to Tom Petty in Los Angeles, accompanying such artists as Jackson Browne and Don Henley.

Larkin Poe's cover of the traditional song "John the Revelator" was used as the Series 3 episode 13 ending music for the Fox TV show Lucifer.

In 2018, Larkin Poe's self-produced third album Peach was nominated for a Blues Foundation Best Emerging Artist Album award.

Larkin Poe released Venom & Faith, their fourth studio album, on November 9, 2018. The album was recorded in Nashville, produced by Rebecca and Megan, and engineered and mixed by Roger Alan Nichols. Venom & Faith reached #1 on the Billboard blues album chart for the week of November 24, 2018.

Band members

  • Rebecca Lovell: lead vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin, banjo, violin, piano; programs drums, bass and arrangements

  • Megan Lovell: harmony vocals, lapsteel, dobro

  • Tarka Layman: electric bass

  • Kevin McGowan: drums


Studio albums

  • Kin (2014)

  • Reskinned (2016)

  • Peach (2017)

  • Venom & Faith (2018)


  • Spring (2010)

  • Summer (2010)

  • Fall (2010)

  • Winter (2010)

  • Thick as Thieves (2011)


  • Live from Stongfjorden (2012)


  • The Sound of the Ocean Sound with Thom Hell (2013)

  • Killing Time EP with Blair Dunlop (2013)

Other appearances

  • The Rainy Day Sessions EP by A Rocket to the Moon (2010)

  • Blight and Blossom by Blair Dunlop (2012)

  • Shuffle and Deal by Gilmore & Roberts (2012)

  • Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes by The New Basement Tapes (2014)

  • Southern Gravity by Kristian Bush (2015)

  • Detour: Live at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall by Elvis Costello (2015)

  • We're All Somebody from Somewhere by Steven Tyler (2016)


External links

  • Official website