Orchestre De Chambre De Lausanne – Roma – 16 novembre 2020
Auditorium Parco Della Musica - Sala Santa Cecilia
Roma,Largo Luciano Berio, 3
Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne

Orchestre De Chambre De Lausanne – Roma – 16 novembre 2020

16 novembre 2020 - 20:30
Vendite terminate il 16/11/2020 - 20:30
Compra Biglietti

Dettagli evento

The Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne (OCL, Lausanne Chamber Orchestra) is a Swiss chamber orchestra based in Lausanne, Switzerland.

As a partner of the Lausanne Opera, the OCL regularly appears in the orchestra pit during the opera season. The OCL is also the first Swiss orchestra to engage a composer in residence every two years. As part of its mission to promote music among young listeners, the orchestra offers a number varied concerts for families and schools, and it collaborates on a regular basis with musical institutions of higher learning in the city (the Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne and the Haute Ecole de Théâtre de Suisse Romande).

The OCL is subsidized by the city of Lausanne and the canton of Vaud and is a member of the Swiss Association of Professional Orchestras. The majority of its concerts are recorded by the Lausanne-based radio station Espace 2, its privileged partner since its beginnings, and made available to the public for listening on request.

The OCL performs some 100 concerts each season at the Salle Métropole in Lausanne, its place of residence, as well as throughout Switzerland and abroad. The ensemble is regularly heard at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and Salle Pleyel in Paris, at the Alte Oper in Frankfurt, at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, at the Musikverein in Vienna, as well as at festivals such as the BBC Proms in London, the George Enescu Festival in Bucharest and the Rheingau Musik Festival.


Founded in 1942 by Victor Desarzens, the OCL has collaborated with eminent international artists such as conductors Ernest Ansermet, Günter Wand, Paul Hindemith, Charles Dutoit, Neeme Järvi and Jeffrey Tate, as well as with soloists such as Isaac Stern, Radu Lupu and Martha Argerich. During the course of its nearly 70 years of existence the orchestra has been led by only six artistic directors: Victor Desarzens (1942–1973), Armin Jordan (1973–1985), Lawrence Foster (1985–1990), Jesús López Cobos (1990–2000), Christian Zacharias (2000–2013), and Joshua Weilerstein (2014– ).


The OCL’s extensive discography has earned a great deal of praise from the international press. The complete recording of Mozart’s Piano Concertos, performed and conducted by Christian Zacharias for the German label MDG, has received over 40 international awards and distinctions. More recently, a new collaboration has commenced with Outhere Music: a remarkable recording of Louis Spohr’s complete Clarinet Concertos performed and led by Paul Meyer in 2012 was followed by a Schönberg disc with Heinz Holliger released in the autumn of 2013.

In the 1970s, Philips (now Decca) recorded a number of Haydn's operas with Antal Dorati as conductor, as follows:

  • La fedeltà premiata (1975): Lucia Valentini Terrani, Frederica von Stade, Cotrubas, Luigi Alva

  • La vera costanza (1976): Jessye Norman, Helen Donath, Claes-Håkan Ahnsjö, Domenico Trimarchi

  • Orlando Paladino (1977): Arleen Auger, Elly Ameling, Claes-Håkan Ahnsjö, Domenico Trimarchi

  • L'isola disabitata (1977): Linda Zoghby, Norma Lehrer, Luigi Alva, Renato Bruson

  • Il mondo della luna (1978): Arleen Auger, Edith Mathis, Frederica von Stade, Domenico Trimarchi

  • Armida (1978): Jessye Norman, Claes-Håkan Ahnsjö, Norma Burrowes, Samuel Ramey

  • L'incontro improvviso (1979–80): Claes-Håkan Ahnsjö, Margaret Marshall, Della Jones, Benjamin Luxon

  • L'infedeltà delusa (1981): Edith Mathis, Barbara Hendricks, Michael Devlin, Claes-Håkan Ahnsjö

These recordings were re-issued in 2009 as DECCA 4781776 in one box.

Artistic Directors

  • Victor Desarzens (1942–1972)

  • Armin Jordan (1973–1985)

  • Lawrence Foster (1985–1990)

  • Jesús López-Cobos (1990–2000)

  • Christian Zacharias (2000–2013)

  • Joshua Weilerstein (2014– )


  • Quand l’Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne descend dans le métro, RTS, 2 January 2014, accessed 16 November 2014

External links

  • Official website