Princess Nokia – Milano – 20 giugno 2021
Santeria Toscana 31
Milano,viale toscana 31
Princess Nokia

Princess Nokia – Milano – 20 giugno 2021

20 giugno 2021 - 20:30
Compra Biglietti

Dettagli evento

Destiny Nicole Frasqueri, (born June 14, 1992), better known by her stage name Princess Nokia, is an American rapper of Puerto Rican descent. She is a strong supporter of intersectional feminism, founding the Smart Girl Club with Milah Libin. After a series of releases, she infiltrated the conversation with the 2017 independent breakthrough, 1992 Deluxe [Rough Trade] which reached Top 25 on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart, and "The Albums of the Year,” at NME. She hosted an Apple Music Beats 1 Radio show “The Voice in My Head with Princess Nokia and co-starred in the high-profile Maison Margiela launch for Mutiny. After a two year break Princess Nokia released a new single Sugar Honey Iced Tea (S.H.I.T) on September 16th 2019.

Early life

At the age of two, Frasqueri lost her mother to AIDS. Between the ages of 9 and 16, she was in foster care. During her time in foster care, her foster mother was physically abusive. After she left foster care, she lived with her grandmother. At the age of sixteen, Frasqueri started writing rhymes. She lived around East Harlem and the Lower East Side of New York City at the time.


Frasqueri recorded her first song, "Destiny", in 2010, and released it under the name "Wavy Spice" on her SoundCloud page and her YouTube channel in mid-2012. It was largely autobiographical and gained modest popularity. Subsequently, she released her second track, "Bitch I'm Posh". The track went viral, and as of December 2017, received 110,000 plays on SoundCloud. Frasqueri then released YAYA (Yaya is a Taino word) as a commentary of perceptions of colonial history.
Frasqueri continued to release singles, such as Dragons, a Game of Thrones inspired piece, Honeysuckle, and Vicki Gotti until changing her moniker to Princess Nokia. She released her mixtape, 1992, on Soundcloud. She also began touring.

Frasqueri has been praised for her feminism. She also founded the Smart Girls Club, a podcast where she discusses healthy living and urban feminism."

Frasqueri claims Princess Nokia is an alter ego, which she introduced with the track "Nokia". She released an album named Metallic Butterfly on May 12, 2014, and was debuted on Vice and Soundcloud.

On September 8, 2017, she released her debut studio album, 1992 Deluxe, which was an expanded version of her 2016 mixtape, 1992. It peaked at #25 on Billboard's Heatseekers Albums chart. NME listed it as the 32nd best album of 2017.

Nokia also has debuted a new radio show on Apple's Beats 1 Radio on February 18, 2018. Episodes will air every other Sunday and allow listeners to get acquainted with the inner workings of Nokia's mind. She has a total of 6 episodes labelled: "The Voices in My Head with Princess Nokia."

In September 2018, Nokia was chosen as one of the six ambassadors by Maison Margiela to promote their new fragrance, Mutiny.

In December 2018, Nokia rereleased the album Metallic Butterfly under the label Rough Trade.


In February 2017, Frasqueri confronted a member of the audience at a charity concert at Cambridge University whom she accused of "mouthing dirty obscenities like 'show me your tits'." The alleged harasser denied yelling such obscenities and told The Cambridge Student: "I was standing in the audience and was told by a fellow audience member that the name of the performer was 'Abigail'. Given that I was enjoying the performance, I shouted out 'Let's go Abigail!'. After I shouted this, she came down from the stage. She slapped me and threw drinks on me." After returning to the stage, Nokia told the crowd "that's what you do when a White boy disrespects you".

In October 2017, Frasqueri made headlines again when a viral video surfaced of her throwing hot soup in a man's face whilst on a subway journey to Brooklyn. The rapper heard a white man shouting racial slurs at a group of teenagers, and decided to take action against the racist remarks by slapping the man and throwing her hot soup on him. She took to Twitter saying: "this bigot called this group of teenage boys 'n****s' on the train so I stood up and slapped him and everybody on the train backed me up".

Personal life

Frasqueri identifies as bisexual and has stated such in a past interview, she has also talked about how growing up near the queer community of New York City was an important part of her life. The early stages of her musical career began through performing at gay clubs, and she gained popularity among the gay nightlife scene.


Studio albums

  • Metallic Butterfly (2014, as Destiny Frasqueri)

  • 1992 Deluxe (2017)

  • A Girl Cried Red (2018)

  • Curveball (2019)


  • Honeysuckle (2015, as Destiny)

Guest appearances

  • Ratking – "Puerto Rican Judo" from So It Goes (2014)

  • Mykki Blanco – "Wish You Would" from Spring/Summer 2014 (2014)

  • Ratking – "Steep Tech" from 700-Fill (2015)

  • K. Michelle – "Outro" from Kimberly: The People I Used to Know (2017)

  • Show Me the Body – "Spit" from Corpus I (2017)

  • Josh Forehead – "Fanta" from Summer 2014 (2017)

Awards and nominations

Sweden GAFFA Awards

Delivered since 2010, the GAFFA Awards (Swedish: GAFFA Priset) are a Swedish award that rewards popular music awarded by the magazine of the same name.

See also

  • LGBT culture in New York City

  • List of self-identified LGBTQ New Yorkers

  • Nuyorican

  • Puerto Ricans in New York City


External links

  • Princess Nokia's channel on YouTube

  • Princess Nokia's official website